How To (Felt Strawberry Short Cake)

I’ve been hard at work sewing together my niece’s christmas present…a felt tea party!

Earlier I gave you a tutorial on how to make felt strawberry slices, and as promised, here is the strawberry shortcake to put them on!

For this project you will need pink felt, tan felt, white felt, pink thread, tan thread, and white thread.

How To (Strawberry Short Cake)

First step is to make the top and bottom of the cake. I took a cereal bowl that was the size I wanted my finished cake to be and traced it on the felt. The pink will be the top of the cake, the tan will be the bottom. To make perfect quarters for the slices of your cake, fold the circle in half and cut along the fold. Take the half circle, fold it in half again and cut along the fold. You should end up with 4 pink quarters  and four tan quarters like this.

The size of the next pieces will depend on the size of the circle you’ve cut. For the outer edge of the cake you will cut a rectangle out of the pink. Determine how tall you want your cake. Mine was 3 inches tall, therefore my pink rectangle was 3 inches tall. The length of your rectangle is determined by how long the curved edge of your cake quarters.

Pink rectangle = 3 inches tall x lenght of curve

The next piece you will cut are the insides of the cake slices. They will be cut from tan felt and have the same height of your cake. The length of the tan rectangle is determined by measuring the straight side of the cake quarter.

Tan rectangle = 3 inches tall x length of straight side of cake quarter.

You will need 2 tan rectangles per wedge, and one pink. Total…8 tan pieces and 4 pink pieces.

How To (Strawberry Short Cake) Next you will cut a looooooooong wavy strip of pink felt. This will be your layer of cream in the cake. Put two tan pieces together end to end, lay the pink strip over the top, and cut it to fit the length of each piece.  You should end up with 8 pieces of wavy pink filling, one for each tan rectangle. Stitch them to the center of the tan pieces with pink floss.

How To (Strawberry Short Cake)Start to stitch it all together! I started by putting the filling pieces beside the pink topping and sewing along the straight sides of the topping wedge with pink floss. From there I stitched the pink rectangle to the pink curve of the wedge.

How To (Strawberry Short Cake)

Continue on with the pink floss to stitch the pink rectangle to the sides of the tan rectangles.

How To (Strawberry Short Cake)

Switch to tan thread sew the point of the cake together. Stitch the tan wedge into the bottom of the cake making sure to leave a space to stuff the cake.

How To (Strawberry Short Cake)Stuff your cake making sure that you don’t over stuff it! You want your slices to fit together on the straight edges. Stitch it up and shape it nicely.

Next we’re going to make frosting. I went nuts with this but you can make as little or as much as you like.  You’ll start by making a paper template of a pointed leaf shape about an inch long.

This next step can be done by hand stitching one by one, or you can cheat like me! Trace out this pattern on white felt so that the points of the shape touch but don’t over lap. Fold the felt over so that you will have two layers of this shape.

How To (Strawberry Shortcake)

On the sewing machine, sew down the center of your row of frosting.. IMPORTANT.. back stitch over every spot where the shapes touch end to end. This way, you can cut out the shapes and the stitching won’t unravel.How To (Strawberry Shortcake)

Cut out each shape!

How To (Strawberry Shortcake)

The two layer piece should unfold into an “X” shape. By sewing these pieces overlapping at the edge of your cake you create frosting!

How To (Strawberry Shortcake)

With the size of my cake and my one inch pieces of frosting, it took 5 pieces to line one edge of each slice. I frosted the top and bottom edges of each slice, as well as a small circle of frosting in the center of the top of the cake. Frost it up!

If you’ve made the strawberries as well, arrange them and stitch them into your cake. Decorate it however you like. Try red velvet! Dark chocolate! What ever your felt tooth desires 🙂

UPDATE: For the finished cake and related items please follow the link to this post!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “How To (Felt Strawberry Short Cake)”

  1. Amy Says:

    That is such a cute present! Do you have a photo of the finished product?

  2. megnificentmade Says:

    Hi Amy! Yes I will be posting a final photo soon. After this holiday weekend I’ll be headed out to the store to find a cake plate that I can velcro the cake to before I take a photo. You’ll most likely be seeing that tomorrow!

  3. Lindsay Says:

    This is one of the best tutorials I have found online! I just found it this morning and have made several pieces to go along with my daughter’s sugar cookies for Christmas! Thanks for posting it!

  4. megnificentmade Says:

    Thank you Lindsay! I’d love to see photos if you’re posting. I’ll post my finished cake soon. Its been crazy around here with moving and my first craft show.

  5. Felt Strawberry Short Cake « Megnificent Made's Blog Says:

    […] short-cake! A few weeks ago I posted a HOW-TO for this adorable felt play food which you can find here. You can find a tutorial on the strawberries here. I try to make lots of How-To posts so check out […]

  6. Lindsay Says:

    I posted pictures of my finished cake today on my blog (www.ourordinarystories.blogspot.com). I used your directions with a few modifications of my own (like as little hand stitching as possible-I suck at it). Thanks again for the great tutorial!

  7. Felt Strawberry Shortcake » Jennie Frake Photography Says:

    […] is the tutorial for the Felt Strawberry Shortcake and the Felt Strawberry Halves Posted in […]

Leave a comment