How To (Felt Strawberry Halves)

I’ve been hard at work sewing together my niece’s felt tea party. I’ve used some wonderful patterns from UmeCraft on Etsy, but I won’t share her secrets! Sorry!

I’ve promised to keep you posted on the progress of the tea party and I’m currently in the middle of crafting a strawberry shortcake. This tutorial will give you an idea of how to put together the strawberry slices for the cake (tutorial to come for cake!)

How To (felt strawberry halves)

For this you’ll need some red, pink and green felt. I used a cream color embroidery thread for the seeds, green on the leaves, and red thread to pull it all together.

How To (Felt Strawberry Halves)

Your basic shape is a heart! Make sure the bottom is rounded and not a point, and that the lobes at the top are nice and wide and rounded. To start off, stitch in your “seeds” scattered around the surface of the heart.

How To (felt strawberry halves

First, ignore my nail polish. Sewing is harsh on nails…and I’ve never been diligent that way. Fold the heart in half with your seeds on the inside. Start whip stitching within the dip in the top of the heart. You’re going to sew along the humps at the top of the heart from the folded side to about where my white knot is. I like to start further away from the seem at the side with the fold, and as i sew outward start placing my stitches closer to the edge. When you turn your strawberry back out again, it will make the curve at the top of your berry rounder and smoother.

How To (felt strawberry halves)

Tie off your knot and turn your berry inside out. There should be a nice curve at the top! Place the berry down on the pink felt like you see here. I just cut around them but if you prefer, use a fabric pen to draw the outline of the berry onto the pink felt.

How To (felt strawberry halves)

This pink piece will be sewn to the open side of your strawberry. Cut an elongated red heart to stitch into the center of the pink piece. I hate tieing knots so I try to do all of this in one swoop! Before finishing off the stitches, stuff the strawberry and seal it up.

If you like (it depends on how you attach the berries to your cake) you can and a green star shape to the top of the berry with green thread. Free-style cut them and they’ll look more organic!

I will post soon how to make the felt cake to go with these berries…but they’re beautiful all on their own!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “How To (Felt Strawberry Halves)”

  1. Amy Says:

    Oooh I will have to make some of these! Take a peek here too: http://amysodyssey.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/two-lovely-visitors/ 😉

  2. How To (Felt Strawberry Short Cake) « Megnificent Made's Blog Says:

    […] I gave you a tutorial on how to make felt strawberry slices, and as promised, here is the strawberry shortcake to put them […]

  3. Gloria Says:

    Very useful aritle. I thought tolet you know that you website isn’t getting displayed prroperly on skyfire web browser on my mobile phone.

    Have a good time…sorry for typing mistake

  4. Felt Strawberry Short Cake « Megnificent Made's Blog Says:

    […] this adorable felt play food which you can find here. You can find a tutorial on the strawberries here. I try to make lots of How-To posts so check out that whole section of the blog if you’re […]

  5. FELT FOOD {STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE} » JENNIE FRAKE | On Sunshine Photography & Design Says:

    […] is the tutorial for the Felt Strawberry Shortcake and the Felt Strawberry Halves Posted in CAKE, DIY « PUPPY CHOW (PREGANANCY CRAVINGS) Funny Video of my Neice […]

Leave a comment