How To (Rainbow Cupcakes)

I’ve been seeing this fun recipe around for rainbow cupcakes and I thought they would be perfect for the St.Patrick’s Day party I am planning for my parent’s neighborhood. Tonight was the test run…and I am so glad I gave it a test run! It’s a bit time consuming but the end results are so pretty it makes it well worth the effort.

Rainbow Cupcakes

It really is as easy as mixing up your favorite boxed cake mix. I prefer a chocolate cake but you obviously can’t get pretty colors out of that. The Pillsbury deluxe moist cake was delicious in classic white.

Evenly divide your batter into six cups. Mix up your ROYGBIV’s (or in this case skip the indigo)It takes VERY LITTLE batter from each color. It’s important that you fit all of your colors into the cup and still have 1/3 rd of the free at the top. I didn’t manage to fit it all in with enough space left and they flowed out all over (in beautiful rainbow cupcake waterfalls) and made a mess. This is why I did a test run!

Start with either red or purple in the bottom of the very well greased and floured cup cake papers. I started mine with red because for some reason I wanted purple on top…It doesnt really matter. Incase you don’t know rainbow order…Red Orange Yellow Green Blue Violet.

To spread each color thinly to the edge, wet your finger with water and push the batter around to the edges.

Pop them in the oven and bake for the instructed time on the box. Let them cool well before you remove the papers.

I wouldn’t use the cillicone cups again for these as I think there would be more advantage in being able to tear the paper instead of the cupcake when needed. I also might skip the orange just to cut back on the number of layers I need to fit in. It didn’t show up as beautifully as the rest of the colors anyway.

Rainbow Cupcakes

I topped them off with a “cloud” of piped cream cheese frosting because it is the only kind worth eating, and a gold coin for the gold at the end of the rainbow. It’s not a chocolate coin but that’s all I had. A chocolate coin would obviously make people happier.

Rainbow Cupcakes

I just love how bright those colors are! I’m glad I went for a test run on these because the next run will be heaps better for the party.

Check back again this week to see more festive DIY ideas for your St. Patrick’s Day party! I’ll be working on decorations tomorrow.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “How To (Rainbow Cupcakes)”

  1. fattydumpling Says:

    Although you were disappointed in the orange layer, I have to say, this is the most gorgeous rainbow cupcake I’ve seen on blogs. No lie, I like how the layers aren’t perfect–it looks like a cupcake-shaped crayon, actually! I don’t know why I think that crayons look edible, but it looks delicious ;]

    • megnificentmade Says:

      Well thank you! I really have no idea how you’d get them perfect because the outer layers cook first and rise. They were all too full and spilled over in the oven but the liquid rainbow spill was really pretty anyway.

  2. St. Pat’s Menu Ideas « Megnificent Made's Blog Says:

    […] addition to my rainbow cupcakes that I’ve already posted on, I found these celtic knot cookies from Sprinkle Bakes. They look […]

  3. Lucky Libations « Megnificent Made's Blog Says:

    […] Rainbow Cupcakes […]

  4. St. Patrick’s Day Party « Megnificent Made's Blog Says:

    […] How-To Rainbow Cupcakes […]

Leave a comment