Lovely Local

As I may have mentioned before I am living in Rochester, NY right now. It may not be the New York New York everyone in the rest of the world thinks of, but there is a whole lot of creativity in this city.

One example is my friend Kate, of KateMDot. I first heard of Kate’s lovely creations when she helped myself and our friend Teale with a creatively destructive project called “Trash the Dress.” Kate was very kind to make us a faux wedding dress to trash in the name of the art movement. The results were wonderful and I really appreciate her help with our fun day out.

Soaking it in

She was recently responsible for a repurposed fashion our friend wore for her wedding reception this year too.

you ought to give me wedding rings

Kate is on the right wearing a creation of her own, while the bride is on the left wearing her beautiful reception party dress!

I recently ran into Kate at the craft store picking out fabric for some new pieces in her etsy store and I thought I’d stop in and see what she’s been up to! Kate has been very busy with lots of new additions to her shop. Below are a few of my favorites.

Velvet Chocolate Truffle Dress by KateMDot

Velvet Chocolate Truffle Dress by KateMDot

Beaded Vintage Black Mesh Dress by KateMDot

Beaded Vintage Black Mesh Dress by KateMDot

Slit Cord Jumper by KateMDot

Slit Cord Jumper by KateMDot

Kate’s dresses, pants and tops are all made from recycled fashions. She does a beautiful job making them and makes a pretty good model too! Head over to Kate’s shop and check out more of her one of a kind, hand-made clothes!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

