The Learning Process

2nd try on the 1st try

My brother Aaron gave me a gift certificate to the craft store for Christmas and I spent it on fabric and patterns. I really want to take the time to learn all about following a pattern and making clothes.

This skirt is one of my first goes and while I do like it…there are a few lessons from it!

My zippers need some help.

My hem is too obvious. There has to be a better way!

The leather bit was not a part of the pattern and it was a bit ambitious for me to make things up before I had the hang of things. This is actually the second try on that. The first leather band was a bit tight so I managed to make a second with the scraps. Leather…as I should have guessed…is also not all that easy to sew with. This one fits better, and I am happy with the buttons but tearing the band off and replacing it with a slightly larger one somewhat messed up my pleats in the front. They’re not unbearable but they’re not as sharp and neat as I would like.

All and all, I have to say for a first try it’s not bad. Its wearable and I do like the look of it. There is another skirt I’ll post soon and hopefully I can really get into making clothes! I think my next project will be an off white or cream button down to go with this 🙂

Don’t forget! Win a Prize Here!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The Learning Process”

  1. LolaDee Says:

    I think it looks great for a first effort! I also want to make an attempt this year to learn to do things like this. You seem to have made a better start than I have so far…but its still january, right? 🙂

  2. LolaDee Says:

    Initially I just want to make jewellery. I have started getting the things I need to start me off so soon I will give it a go 🙂 Eventually I want to learn to make clothes..of course I must learn to sew properly first. All in good time 🙂

Leave a Reply

