Recipe Book

My mom and I both love love love to cook and spend an awful lot of time watching food network when we’re together. Since I’ve been away in Australia cooking makes me feel close to her and I’ve been very much into digging out new recipes and concocting some of my own to pass along to her.

Mom’s handmade Christmas gift this year was a recipe book! This fabric I absolutely loved and had intended to use as curtains in my kitchen but that idea was VETOED. Instead I used it to make this gift for mom.
Recipe Book

I used batting and binding board for the covers and stitched button holes to accommodate the green binder clips I found in the craft booking section of the craft store. The pages are recipe book fill pages from craft stores and will take regular recipe cards.

I made my own recipe cards with photographs I took of the fabric and manipulated in Adobe Illustrator. The pocket in the front of the book will hold the blanks for her.

Recipe Book

I stitched a felt tea pot to the front of the book and monogrammed it. I also hand stitched all the way around the edge of the book which not only looked nicer but also made it easier to work around the thick binding board I used.

Recipe Book

Before Christmas day I wrote down all of my favorite new food adventures from the past year and filled about the first 10 cards for her. It’ll be a work in progress!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Recipe Book”

  1. LolaDee Says:

    Beautiful! Amazing idea 🙂 You need to make more of these and sell online 🙂

  2. 4 Treats for Cooks « life :: pure and simple Says:

    […] Recipe Book. Collect some of your favorite recipes and give a gift they’ll […]

Leave a Reply

