Tie Dress

I’ve been making a lot of “I’ll post soon” statements around here and I intend on catching up on those.

Recently I attended the wedding of my best friend Teale and my new best frenemie, Greg at a local art gallery. This was one of the many things that had kept me so busy lately.

I had promised Teale to wear something fabulous to her wedding and about seven months ago I decided to make my own dress for the wedding. I made this decision having never sewn anything successful in my life but it is with this dress that I bought myself a sewing machine and taught myself to sew.

Everything I have made since this project has gone quite well, but this one was a tough one for a starter! I’d like to do it again knowing everything I know now. I do like the dress, but if you were to look inside you’d say “What on earth is going on here??”

Anyway. Here it is…

I have to apologize. It is a small photo and a post-wedding photo. Alas, it is the only one I have because I took the wedding photos so I’m not in any. This was taken by my aunt to was at my house when I arrived home.

The dress is made entirely of vintage neck ties I collected from the vintage stores all over Sydney. I originally wanted black and white only but It only took me two shops to discover that would be nearly impossible on a reasonable budget so I caved on gray. I accented it with the only semi-full price (from paddy’s market) neck tie in fuscha that matched my hair and pinned at the knot to the top of my strapless dress making it a halter dress. The pink tie can also tie around the waist if I like.

The real work was in combining all of the ties. Each tie had to be torn up the back seam, stuffing removed, and sewn the neighboring tie. Once they were all together I sewed each tie up it’s back seam again. When all of ties were together side to side I treated it like a piece of fabric and used a strapless dress pattern on it making sure I cut the fabric to keep the ties in line. Beneath the dress is heaps of black toole.

I used my new found sewing skills 7 months later when I arrived here in Rochester 3 days before the wedding to correct all of my inexperience and it ended up fitting quite nicely. The shoes were a lucky find last minute at target! Black white and gray satin striped shoes.

I wish I had a better photo. If I find someone else has one I’ll post that too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tie Dress”

  1. Amy Says:

    Oooh that dress is so cool! You are very talented 😀 Especially if you were still learning at the time – that’s quite a challenging project!!

Leave a Reply

